Operator Certification Committee

Reports to: Education and Public Affairs Council

Responsibilities: To ensure that qualified personnel are operating water treatment plants and distribution systems. Certified employees maximize the performance of the plant and system, minimize public health concerns, protect the safety of the operators, improve compliance with regulations, optimize operation costs and protect the utility's infrastructure. Certification of operators establishes the job as a profession and provides a means of recognition by peers, managers and the public.

Operator Certification Committee Annual Report

State Certified Operators Program

Judy Simpanen, Co-Chair
Aquarion Water Company
349 Mistuxet Avenue
Stonington, CT 06378
Phone: (860) 536-2120
Fax: (860) 572-8869
Email: jsimpanen@aquarionwater.com
Trevor Roberts, Co-Chair
The Metropolitan District
1420 Farmington Avenue
West Hartford, CT 06107
Phone: (860) 313-0031 Ext. 3804
Fax: (860) 561-9818
Email: tlroberts@themdc.com
Raymond Esponda
City of New Britain
1000 Shuttle Meadow Avenue 
New Britain, CT 06025
Phone: (860) 826-3532
Fax: (860) 827-2090
Email: re@newbritainct.gov
Andrew Hurlbut
Professional Water Systems, Inc.
963 Ethan Allen Highway
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Phone: (203) 948-8113
Fax: (203) 438-8499
Email: ahurlbut@professionalwatersystems.com
Diane Johnson
Atlantic States Rural Water
1130 Ten Rod Road, Suite D-102
North Kingstown, RI 02852
Phone: (401) 667-0511
Fax: (401) 667-0522
Email: djohnson@asrwwa.org
William Sullivan
Connecticut Dept. of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, MS #51 WAT
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
Phone: (860) 509-7336
Fax: (860) 509-7359
Email: william.sullivan@ct.gov
Debbie Oullette
Norwich Public Utilities
16 South Golden Street
Norwich, CT 06360
Phone: (860) 887-3162
Fax: (860) 887-3162
Email: debbieouellette@npumail.com
Rick Brown
Regional Water Authority
90 Sargent Drive
New Haven, CT 06511
Phone: (203) 484-9955
Fax: (203) 603-4817
Email: rmbrown@rwater.com
Jimmy Sima
Sima Drilling
150 Schoolhouse Road
Cheshire, CT 06410
Phone: (203) 631-0898
Fax: (203) 250-7199
Email: simadrilling@necoxmail.com
 


CTAWWA • 90 Sargent Drive • New Haven, CT 06511
Telephone: (860) 604-8996 • Fax: (860) 953-3051 • Email: info@ctawwa.org