Public Announcements


CTAWWA Award Nominations

The Awards Committee of the CT Section of American Works Association invites nominations for the for the following 2019 Association awards.

Abel Wolman Award of Excellence

This award recognizes those whose careers in the water works industry exemplify vision, creativity, and excellent professional performance characteristic of Abel Wolman's long and productive career. 

2018 Recipient:  Eugene Glysson, Michigan Section

Award of Merit

This award is to recognize those outside the water industry who have demonstrated outstanding service in support of the principles of AWWA in providing better water for people.

2018 Recipient:  No awardee

Distinguished Public Service Award

This award is presented in recognition of distinguished public service outside the line of duty by an AWWA member. 

2018 Recipient:  Carolyn Quigley, Intermountain Section

Dr. John L. Leal Award

The Dr. John L. Leal Award is presented annually for distinguished service to the water profession in commemoration of the sound medical/public health expertise and the courageous leadership advancing public health that characterized the life of Dr. John L. Leal.

2018 Recipient:  Dr. Daniel Oerther, Missouri Section

Outstanding Service to AWWA Award

This award recognizes and honors a member of AWWA who has demonstrated outstanding service to the Association through leadership and active participation in AWWA programs.

2018 Recipient:  Gary Lynch, California-Nevada Section

Water Industry Hall of Fame Award

This award recognizes those living and deceased who have made the most significant contributions to the field of public water supply. 

2018 Recipients:  Katie McCain, Texas Section

                               Kerwin Rakness, Rocky Mountain Section

John Lechner Award of Excellence

This award was established to recognize an AWWA Section Manufacturers/Associates Council member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the drinking water community and to AWWA's mission and goals.

2018 Recipient:  Chris Hodgson, NEWWA, A Section of AWWA


Award criteria and submission forms for each award can be found on the AWWA website:

Please forward your nominations to the CTAWWA Nomination Chair, Peter Bocciarelli,

CTAWWA • 90 Sargent Drive • New Haven, CT 06511
Telephone: (860) 604-8996 • Fax: (860) 953-3051 • Email: